This vegetable dish called ‘sei tai theen wong’ or ‘four heavenly kings’.It is a dish comprising four types of vegetables – brinjal, long beans, wing beans and stink beans (petai). I have replaced the ‘wing beans’ with okra instead. These vegetables are stir-fried with some sambal belacan (chilli and shrimp paste) and dried shrimps.

I was in luck, a few days earlier my cousin has given me some really good and spicy sambal and today my neighbour gave me some fresh petai from Bentong. I’ve been hunting for petai but was in no luck. I was estatic and counting my blessing. 

  

 
Ingredients

8 stalks long beans, cut into 3cm lengths

8 stalks okras, cut diagonally 1cm width

1 brinjal, cut into 3cm lengths

3 cloves garlic, chopped

2 tbsp dried shrimps, soaked in water to soften and chopped 

2 -3tbsp of sambal

50ml water

1/2tsp salt and pepper ,or to taste

2tbsp cooking oil

 Method

Spray some oil on the brinjals and long beans. Airfried the brinjal and long beans till almost soft about 5 mins at 180*c. ( you can also pan fried these instead)

1. Heat the cooking oil in a frying pan. When hot, sauté garlic and dried shrimps and sambal till fragrant.

2. Next, add in the okras and petais.  Stir-fry over medium to high heat and mix evenly until the beans are half cooked.

3. Add the brinjal and long beans, water and salt, and continue to stir-fry. Add salt and pepper according to taste.

4. Cover the pan for 1-2 minutes, stir the ingredients several times to ensure even cooking of the vegetables. Dish out and garnish with fried shallots.

  

