Tags

, , , ,

When I was a teenager, my mom used to cook a lot of  bittergourd. My mom believe that it is cooling for the body and is good to reduce heatiness from the body. That’s when I’ve breakouts and were in the sun all the time. I don’t really like it then and now I’ve learn to enjoy it. 

It was the bitterness that put me off. Now I know that to reduce the bitterness, you can rub it with salt and cook it in hot water for a minute to two. With reduced bitterness, bittergourd is tasty and it is full of vitamins and minerals. It is also a plant base insulin which is good to lower high blood pressure. Below is a simple recipe to enjoy bittergourd. 
  
Ingredients:1/2 a bittergourd – cut into half and remove the seeds.

1 tsp salt

5 large eggs , lightly beaten 

2-3 clove garlic, chopped

salt and pepper to taste

oil for frying
Method:

Slice the bittergourd thinly and rub it with 1 tsp of salt. Leave aside for at least 5-10 minustes.

Rinse the sliced bittergourd, and in a pot of hot water cook it for a min to two. Remove and drain dry.

Heat wok with 2 tbsp oil and when oil is hot, add in the chopped garlic and the bittergourd. Stir fry until bittergourd is cooked.

Add 1/2tsp salt and 1/2 tsp pepper to the beaten eggs.

Pour eggs over bittergourd and fry until eggs are set and brown.

  

