Tags

,

My mom used to make this soup for me when I’m young. Now when I’m back at my mom’s place, my mom would take the trouble to make me this soup. To my mom, I’m still her baby… And I can still selfishly act like a spoil brat. The secret to a nice pig stomach soup is the chicken. This will make the soup so much sweeter.

   
 

Ingredients

 

– 1 pig stomach

– 1 chicken carcass and other bones or half a chicken

– 2 whole bulb of garlic

– 1 handful of crushed white pepper, depending on how spicy you like it to be

– Add salt to taste

 

Instructions

 1.Bring a pot of water to a boil. Blanch the pig stomach in the boiling water for a few minutes. This will remove the cloudiness from the soup. Blanch the bones and chicken carcass and remove. 

2.In another pot, bring 6 to 8 cups of water to a boil. If using (Philip)pressure cooker;[PPC],put everything in and lock the lid. Select soup and adjust pressure control valve to the sealed position. 

3.Once the water comes to a boil, add in the pig stomach, chicken carcass or any other bones, whole garlic bulb and a small handful of whole white peppers.  

4.Bring the soup back to a boil and turn down to heat to simmer for 2 hours.

 5.Add salt to taste. Remove stomach and cut to strips. Put the stomach and soup into individual bowl.  Garnish with spring onions and crushed black peppercorns. 

** to make sure the stomach is clean, you will need to scrub it with flour and salt. Leave on a few minutes before raising it. 

