Tags

, , , , , , ,

IMG_1179.JPG

Every time I eat this dish it will reminds me of my grandma. Somehow I have associate this dish to my grandma. She is a hakka and this is one of the signature traditional hakka cuisine. It can be pair with rice, porridge and steam bun. It’s best eaten a day after you cook it. It will be so much more tastier and so full of flavour. This recipe is just how my grandma cooked it. It is a comforting food for me as it brings back my childhood memories and that’s truly precious. Enjoy…

IMG_1196.JPG

IMG_6559-2.JPG

900 gm of pork belly ( 3 layer pork)
500gm of sweet preserved mustard
500gm of salted preserved mustard
1 bulb of minced garlic
1 tbsp of dark soy sauce
2 tbsp of soy sauce
1 tbsp of sugar
Some salt and pepper to taste

Wash and rinse the mustard till clean and soak the mustard in water for 2 hours.Squeeze dry the mustard and cut it to small pieces. Then slice the pork thinly. Next heat up the wok and stir fry the preserved mustard till dry and remove from heat. Put a tbsp of oil and sauté the garlic till fragrant. Add the pork belly and stir fry about 5 minutes with the dark and light soy sauce. Next put in the preserved mustard, sugar and mix well. Transfer all to a crock pot and add water ( just enough to cover the mustard and pork belly). Let it simmer for 1 1/2 hours . Add salt and pepper to taste. The liquid should be lightly sweet with a hint of saltiness. The end result will be melt in your mouth pork belly and soft , silky mustard. Lai sik fan!!!( Come and eat, enjoy your meal)

IMG_6645.JPG

